top of page

The Cozy History of a Sweater

I wonder who will wear it when I’m done with it someday.

The Cowichan Sweater was a huge, heavy, woolen beast, a garment with presence, something I’d always wanted but couldn’t have afforded. I plucked it off the rack of new donations being wheeled into the Salvation Army store, and we bonded immediately. A garment with history, too, it turned out.

On the reverse side of the lining was a tag identifying it as belonging to Clifford Stackhouse. A quick search found Clifford’s obituary; a frail, gaunt great-grandfather with an engaging grin and a long list of life adventures and loving family members. Which ones had bought this sweater to keep Clifford’s aging bones warm? The discovery made me love the sweater even more.

[The Sweater] reminds me that we are transitory; it feels like a bequest, and I wonder who will wear it when I’m done with it someday. It’s a voyager from a time when clothing was precious and sturdy and not disposable.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page